Unique, independent and neutral

We help families and children.

The company

Founded in 2019, Awina is a Swiss digital financial services company that actively supports families in financing daycare and ensures reliable monthly payments for daycares.

The Awina model is unique, independent, neutral, and strives for profound change in the current system.

The Vision

Awina helps and provides a family-friendly restructuring of childcare costs as well as timely liquidity to nurseries.

Specifically, Awina enables families to finance up to half of the monthly daycare costs with an earmarked loan, and this at unusually low or attractive interest rates of 3%. The family pays the other half of the daycare costs. During the daycare period, the loan is increased monthly, and after the daycare is over, the family pays it back in equal installments.

The costs for the daycare place are thus spread over several years and the monthly financial burden on the family budget is significantly reduced.

What does “Awina” mean?

The word “āwhina” means “support, help” in the Polynesian Maori language. Awina offers families support and help in everyday life.

Our Team

Gogo Schumacher

Gogo Schumacher

Co-founder, Chairman of the Board

The trained business economist has been successfully working with start-ups for 20 years. After an initial classic corporate career with positions in finance and CEO abroad, he founded the first private network in childcare, KIMI Krippen AG, and led it to success as the main shareholder. Other engagements can be found in the IT, catering and medical industries. He complemented his knowledge with an undergraduate degree in psychology at the UZH and an English Royal Yachtmaster Ocean.
Thomas Russenberger

Thomas Russenberger

Co-founder, CEO

Businessman, entrepreneur with many years of experience in retail and private banking, including as Chief of Staff, Product Manager/Developer, COO of a business unit and CEO of a subsidiary. Management of various customer acquisitions, including Zurich Insurance, Swiss Life and Pictet & Cie. Partner of an internationally active asset manager. Thomas is married and father of two daughters. Thomas is a kitesurfer and snowboarder. He enjoys traveling to France and Asia with his wife and daughters.
Aileen Zumstein

Aileen Zumstein

Founding Partner & Advisor

Publizistikwissenschaftlerin, Multi-Unternehmerin, Beraterin & Expertin für strategische Kommunikation, sie investiert in Startups – ganz nach dem Motto die Welt nachhaltiger, vielfältiger, besser – einfach „schöner” zu machen. Zudem unterstützt sie junge Menschen auf ihrem Karriereweg mit ihrem Netzwerk, Know-How und als Mentorin.
Aileen ist in Japan geboren, in Basel aufgewachsen und liebt den Winter – auf Ski.

Christiane Demgenski

Christiane Demgenski

Chief Product Officer

After her M.A. in International Relations from Sciences Po Paris and first experiences in the NGO world, Christiane joined a major Swiss bank where she spent five years developing digital banking products in various roles.
Christiane is passionate about equality, is a volunteer firefighter, and is currently learning her seventh language.

Jill Altenburger

Jill Altenburger

Chief Marketing Officer

As an entrepreneur and marketing specialist with over 15 years of experience in digital marketing, HR and employer branding, Jill brings experience from both large corporations and start-ups. During her first maternity leave, she founded her own company (a job portal for women), which she sold after 8 years.
Jill lives in Zurich, is a mother of three, a passionate swimmer and a listener of crime podcasts.

Lukas Moser

Lukas Moser

Chief Operating Officer

After completing his business studies in St. Gallen and a short detour into the venture capital scene in Berlin, Lukas joined Advanon, a FinTech in Zurich. He accompanied the development of the company over several years in different positions, then successfully sold it to CreditGate24 as COO and integrated it into the new company.
Lukas is a married father of a daughter and loves endurance sports (especially jogging and cycling).

Our Board

In addition to Thomas and Gogo, Claudia Coninx-Kaczynski and Marc O. Stöckli are also members of Awina's Board of Directors.

Claudia is a member of the Board of Directors of Forbo Holding AG and Swisscontent AG. For three years she was a member of the Board of Directors of TX Group AG and subsequently took over the chairmanship of the pool of family shareholders.

Marc is a co-founder and former CEO of Totemo. Marc is an active investor, board member and coach for entrepreneurial companies and teams in technology and financial services. Previously, he worked in corporate finance and strategy consulting at BCG. Marc is also a member of the global board of the Entrepreneurs' Organization.

Our Partners & Supporters

Einzigartig, unabhängig und neutral

Wir helfen Familien und Kitas.

Die Firma

Awina ist ein 2019 gegründetes schweizerisches digitales Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen, das Familien bei der Finanzierung ausserschulischer Betreuung aktiv unterstützt und den Kitas zuverlässig die Zahlung der Monatsraten sicherstellt.

Das Awina-Modell ist einzigartig, unabhängig, neutral und strebt eine tiefgreifende Veränderung des gegenwärtigen Systems an.

Die Vision

Awina hilft und bietet eine familiengerechte Umstrukturierung der Fremdbetreuungskosten an und stellt den Kitas rechtzeitig Liquidität zur Verfügung.

Konkret ermöglicht Awina Familien mit einem zweckgebundenen Kredit die Finanzierung von bis zur Hälfte der monatlichen Kita-Kosten, und dies zu marktunüblich niedrigen bzw. attraktiven Zinsen von 3%. Die Familie bezahlt die andere Hälfte der Kita-Kosten. Während der Kita-Zeit wird der Kredit monatlich erhöht, und nach der Kita in gleichbleibenden Raten durch die Familie zurückbezahlt.

Die Kosten für den Kita-Platz verteilen sich damit auf mehrere Jahre und die monatliche finanzielle Belastung des Familienbudgets wird massgeblich reduziert.

Und was bedeutet „Awina“?

Das Wort āwhina bedeutet in der polynesischen Sprache der Maori „Unterstützung, Hilfe“. Awina bietet Familien Unterstützung und Hilfe im Alltag.

Unser Team

Gogo Schumacher

Gogo Schumacher

Co-Gründer, VRP

Der ausgebildete Betriebsökonom ist seit 20 Jahren erfolgreich mit Start ups unterwegs. Nach zuerst klassischer Konzernkarriere mit Positionen im Bereich Finance und CEO im Ausland, hat er das erste private Netzwerk in der Kinderbetreuung, die KIMI Krippen AG, gegründet und als Haupt­aktionär zum Erfolg geführt. Weitere Engagements sind in der IT, Catering und Medizinbranche zu finden. Sein Wissen hat er mit einem Grundstudium Psychologie an der UZH und einem englischen Royal Yachtmaster Ocean ergänzt.
Thomas Russenberger

Thomas Russenberger

Co-Gründer, CEO

Kaufmann, Unternehmer mit jahrelanger Erfahrung im Retail- und Private Banking u.a. als Chief of Staff, Produktmanager/-entwickler, COO Geschäftsbereich und CEO Tochtergesellschaft. Führung verschiedenster Kunden­akquisitionen/-übernahmen u.a. der Zurich Versicherung, Swiss Life und Pictet & Cie. Partner eines international tätigen Asset Manager. Thomas ist verheiratet und Vater von zwei Töchtern. Thomas ist Kitesurfer und Snowboarder. Er reist gerne mit Frau und Töchtern nach Frankreich und Asien.
Aileen Zumstein

Aileen Zumstein

Founding Partnerin & Advisor

Publizistikwissenschaftlerin, Multi-Unternehmerin, Beraterin & Expertin für strategische Kommunikation, sie investiert in Startups – ganz nach dem Motto die Welt nachhaltiger, vielfältiger, besser – einfach „schöner” zu machen. Zudem unterstützt sie junge Menschen auf ihrem Karriereweg mit ihrem Netzwerk, Know-How und als Mentorin.
Aileen ist in Japan geboren, in Basel aufgewachsen und liebt den Winter – auf Ski.

Christiane Demgenski

Christiane Demgenski

Chief Product Officer

Nach ihrem M.A. in Internationalen Beziehungen von Sciences Po Paris und ersten Erfahrungen in der NGO-Welt wechselte Christiane zu einer Schweizer Grossbank, wo sie fünf Jahre lang in verschiedenen Rollen digitale Banking Produkte entwickelte.
Christiane begeistert sich für Gleichberechtigung, ist Feuerwehrfrau und lernt gerade ihre siebte Sprache.

Jill Altenburger

Jill Altenburger

Chief Marketing Officer

Als Unternehmerin und Marketing Spezialistin mit über 15 Jahren Erfahrung im Digital Marketing, HR und Employer Branding, bringt Jill sowohl Erfahrungen aus dem Grosskonzern, wie auch aus dem Startup Umfeld mit. Während ihrem ersten Mutterschaftsurlaub gründete sie ihr eigenes Unternehmen (ein Jobportal für Frauen), welches sie nach 8 Jahren verkaufte.
Jill lebt in Zürich, ist Mutter von drei Kindern, passionierte Schwimmerin und Krimi Podcast Hörerin.

Lukas Moser

Lukas Moser

Chief Operating Officer

Nach einem abgeschlossenen BWL-Studium in St. Gallen und einem Abstecher in die Venture-Capital Szene von Berlin schloss Lukas sich Advanon, einem FinTech in Zürich, an. Er durfte die Entwicklung der Firma über mehrere Jahre in unterschiedlichen Positionen begleiten, dann als COO erfolgreich an CreditGate24 verkaufen und in die neue Firma integrieren.
Lukas ist verheirateter Vater einer Tochter und liebt den Ausdauersport (v.a. Joggen und Velofahren).

Unser Verwaltungsrat

Neben Thomas und Gogo sind auch Claudia Coninx-Kaczynski und Marc O. Stöckli Mitglieder von Awinas Verwaltungsrat.

Claudia ist Verwaltungsratsmitglied der Forbo Holding AG und der Swisscontent AG. Während drei Jahren war sie Verwaltungsrätin der TX Group AG und übernahm anschliessend den Vorsitz des Pools der Familienaktionäre.

Marc ist Mitbegründer und ehemaliger CEO von Totemo. Marc ist ein aktiver Investor, Vorstandsmitglied und Coach für unternehmerische Unternehmen und Teams in den Bereichen Technologie und Finanzdienstleistungen. Zuvor war er in der Unternehmensfinanzierung sowie in der Strategieberatung bei BCG tätig. Marc ist auch Mitglied des globalen Vorstandes der Entrepreneurs’ Organization.

Unsere Partner & Förderer